About us

The team

The team consists of 17 members, all students on the later part of the space engineering program at Luleå University of Technology on Space Campus Kiruna. The team have a management group that consists of three students and to help out the team there are two supervisors.


The Management Team consists of Martin Elfvelin, Theresia Hestad and Axel Widenfelt. They take care of all the administration of the project, as well as the system engineering.

On the picture they can be seen on a teambuilding excursion by the beginning of the mountain Aptasvaara, which the project is named after.

If you have any questions for us, send an e-mail to management@projectaptas.com.


Supervising the project are Chris Nieto, PhD-student, and Aris Golemis, research engineer, doing. During the rest of the time which they are not helping APTAS, they are working on another satellite developed at LTU called KvarkenSat.


ECAT is developed by Erik Andersson and Evert Häggman. The instrument consists of a single-frequency transmitter that will act as a calibration tool for the new EISCAT 3D phased array antenna platform.


The camera is developed by Emma Axebrink, Rebecka Svensson and Theresia Hestad. The instrument is a camera providing scientific data to LTU and will be used as a first step in developing a camera that can study the distribution and movement of aurorae.


To make sure that all the different parts of the satellite get as much power as they need are Ten Maneepong and Erik Graff. The power group works with the solar panels as well as the electrical power supply (EPS).


ADCS stands for Attitude Determination and Control System and is the part of the satellite that helps the satellite orient the way we want it to. To do this we use a magnetorquer that will help us with the attitude control, detumbling, and stabilization. The group consists of Eric Brune, Fadel Chams, Axel Widenfelt and Evert Häggman.

TMTC & Ground station

TMTC stands for Telemetry and Telecommand, which means the handling of the communication to and from the satellite. The ground station is the place where this will happen from and fortunately for us, we have our own ground station at the campus. The duo that will take care of these tasks are Gabriel Lorentzson and Martin Elfvelin.


OBDH is the system for the onboard computer and data handling. The quartet taking care of this and knows their software consists of Jimmy Gustavsson, Edvin Lindkvist, Måns Arildsson and Erik Graff.



Romil Barkarmo and Antonia Bussmann are in charge of the mechanical part of the satellite, which includes structure, mechanical, thermal and configuration. They make sure that all the subsystems and instruments fit together nicely on the satellite.